Premiere: Las Kellies ‘Make It Real’ Video

James NichollsLas Kellies, News

Las Kellies Reveal New Video For ‘Make It Real’
New Album  ‘Friends & Lovers‘ Out 14th October
EU Tour
‘Make It Real’ Video

“One of our favourite trios..really rather marvellous” Lauren Laverne BBC 6 Music

“They rule. Fact..take a moment to fully appreciate the sound of Las Kellies!The Beat

The new record demonstrates new growth in terms of lyrics and production, but the band’s values and chemistry still recall early days.She Shreds

Following the release of ‘Total Exposure’ the fiery Argentinian grrl group Las Kellies return with new album ‘Friends & Lovers’ set for release in October 2016.

Las Kellies new wave post-punk blends garage-psych with infectiously deft dance beats and melodic pop. ‘Friends & Lovers’ fuzzed-up gems sees them move away from the heavier dub sounds of their last record instead sinking their teeth into a groove like Thee Oh Sees with the spirit of ESG and Delta 5.

Rupturing with dance floor classics like ‘Sugar Beat’ and ‘I Don’t Care’, they effortlessly move into sun-soaked psych-pop tunes (‘Summer Breeze’, ‘Sun Goes Down’) with slow grooving honeyed tones, shimmering guitars and propulsive percussion.

Produced by Iván Diaz Mathé (credits include Lee “Scratch” Perry & Mad Professor), who’s worked on their previous records, the latest album was recorded in Demolition Sounds Studios.

Las Kellies formed in Buenos Aires back in 2005, they debuted with ‘Shaking Dog!’ (2007) and concentrated on ensuring their prominence on their home turf first. They independently released second album ‘Kalimera’ (2009) that took inspiration from Devo and ESG – at this time the group ventured on their first international tour. Soon after they joined Fire Records releasing ‘Las Kellies’, a 7” split of ‘Erase You’ featuring both ESG and Las Kellies versions dropped with their last full length ‘Total Exposure’ following in 2013 and EP ‘Dubby Exposure’ (Crang/Rastrillo Records) a year later.

On ‘Friends & Lovers’ Las Kellies are Silvina Kelly and Cecilia Kelly. They will joined by their newest member and bassist, Manuela Ducatenzeiler, who tours with them across Europe in winter 2016.

Tour Dates

06 Nov: Moth Club, London, UK
07 Nov: The Hope, Brighton, UK
08 Nov: Ramsgate Music Hall, Ramsgate, UK
09 Nov: The Bassment, Chelmsford, UK
10 Nov: Night & Day, Manchester, UK
11 Nov: Arden Arms, Halifax, UK
12 Nov: The Tin at The Coal Vaults, Coventry, UK
13 Nov: The Ferret, Preston
14 Nov: Harley, Sheffield, UK
15 Nov: Oporto, Leeds, UK
19 Nov: Rotown, Rotterdam, Netherlands
20 Nov: Oedipus Brewery, Amsterdam, Netherlands
23 Nov: Kinky Star, Gent, Belgium
24 Nov: ACU, Utrecht, Netherlands
26 Nov: 1000 Fryd, Aalborg, Denmark
29 Nov: Zoro, Leipzig, Germany
30 Nov: Frankfurt, Germany
01 Dec: Espace B, Paris, France
04 Dec: L’ ecurie, Geneva, Switzerland
06 Dec: Rhiz, Vienna, Austria
13 Dec: Ubu, Perpignan, FranceAlbum pre-order: Kellies Facebook:
Las Kellies Twitter:
Las Kellies Instagram: