Orchestra Of Spheres Reveal New Video & New Album ‘Mirror’ Out 2nd November

Jenna JonesNews, Orchestra of Spheres

Orchestra Of Spheres Reveal New ‘Āta’ Video 

New Album ‘Mirror’ Out 2nd November

Double LP black & clear vinyl / Foil CD / DL

‘Āta’ video:

‘Āta’ audio:

Video created by Orchestra of Spheres, Dan Harris and Nathan Taare.

This video tells the life story of Āta. Born from a magical pyramid, Āta the blob struts the streets of Wellington, repulsing pedestrians along the way. In an attempt to blend in with the crowd, Āta checks into a body modification clinic and undergoes a transfiguration into a winged creature – part blob, part human, part insect. Emerging transformed into the light, and led by dark angels to a holy site, Āta takes flight into the sky. While in flight, Āta is lured to an underground tomb and becomes transfixed by a ritual of drumming and flashing white lights that lure it to a searing death.

Live Dates
Album release gig: 20 Oct: Meow, Wellington, NZ

02 Nov: Festival Rituel 2, Rennes, France
03 Nov: Le Festival Invisible, Brest, France
05 Nov: Supersonic, Paris, France
07 Nov: L’Usine, Geneva, Switzerland
08 Nov: Le Bourg, Lausanne, Switzerland
09 Nov: Musiques Volantes, Metz, France
10 Nov: Le Guess Who?, Utrecht, Netherlands
13 Nov : Loppen, Copenhagen, Denmark
14 Nov: Sörängens folhögskola, Nässjö, Sweden
14 Nov: Roots Bar, Halmstad, Sweden
15 Nov: Arkaoda, Berlin, Germany
16 Nov : TransCentury Update No. 3, UT Connewitz, Leipzig, Germany
17 Nov: Schüxenhaus, Ins, Switzerland
18 Nov: Treppenhaus, Rorschach, Switzerland
22 Nov: Trieste, Italy

“Drawing on the band’s shared love of Tuareg, Niger musician Koudede of legendary collective Group Inerane, Orchestra Of Spheres lay down a massive groove to impel listeners on a reflective voyage of sonic discovery.” Under The Radar

“Playful personas and oblique strategies power the ecstatic jams of New Zealand’s Orchestra Of Spheres” The Wire

Orchestra of Spheres welcomes you on a journey through the looking glass.

Mirror, a double LP and the band’s fourth release on Fire Records, is an exploration of energies and atmospheres, from intense futuristic funk and sonic tape assemblages to windswept reflections from a far flung corner of the world. It combines Orchestra of Spheres’ ecstatic rhythmic power and ritualistic vocals with an expanded orchestral palette including bassoon, harp, viola, bass clarinet, soprano sax, flute and bowed ektars.

Pre-order link;