Out Today: Rats On Rafts / De Kift Self Titled Collaborative Album!

James NichollsNews, Rats On Rafts

Rats On Rafts / De Kift
Self-titled Album Out Today!
Tour Update

“A joyous celebration of musical teamwork” Record Collector

That raw, energetic spirit is fully aflame on this unhinged opener to their self-titled joint album. It finds David Fagan’s punchy vocals and ROR’s blistering guitars and sly pop shot through with a fusillade of parping, discordant trumpets. The album is a stormer too.” Mojo

The moody, monochromatic clip is vaguely reminiscent of 2013 psych-thriller ‘A Field in England’ for its unexpected superposition’s and weird cuts, making it the perfect companion to the tune.” 405

‘Last Day On De Zon’ video 

Upcoming Tour Dates

21 Oct: BAR, Rotterdam, Netherlands
22 Oct: Ekko, Utrecht, Netherlands
27 Oct: Gebr. De Nobel, Leiden, Netherlands
28 Oct: Burgerweehuis, Deventer, Netherlands
18 Nov: Hall of Fame (013 op locatie), Tilburg, Netherlands
25 Nov: Explore The North, Leeuwarden, Netherlands
16 Dec: Doornroosje, Nijmegen, Netherlands
22 Dec: Tolhuistuin, Amsterdam, Netherlands


Rats On Rafts have joined forces with legendary underground Dutch punk band De Kift – Zaandam punk vs Rotterdam punk! Their self-titled collaborative album is set for release this week and coincides with a Netherlands tour.

A playful revisioning of each other’s music which began at Metropolis Festival in 2013. The record brings together songs from Rats On Rafts critically acclaimed second album ‘Tape Hiss’ and De Kift’s huge catalogue. The two bands locked themselves up for a month to record a completely analogue album. Together they will play this material live on tour.

These limited edition LPs have been handmade with recycled record sleeves at De Kift’s own HQ with the help of family, friends and longtime supporters of the group.

Line up: David Fagan (vocals, guitar), Bram Nigten (drums),Ferry Heijne (vocals, trumpet), Pim Heijne (guitar), Marco Heijne (steeldrum), Mathijs Houwink (bass guitar), Han Hulscher (trumpet), Arnoud Verheul (guitar), Patrick Votrian (trombone), Natasha van Waardenburg (bass guitar), Wim ter Weele (vocals, drums).

Pre-order link: https://ratsonraftsmusic.bandcamp.com/album/rats-on-rafts-de-kift