Pere Ubu Announce US ‘Coed Jail!’ Summer Tour 2016 + New Pere Ubu Video

James NichollsEvents, Pere Ubu

Having completed their European tour, Pere Ubu return to the USA and Canada for ‘Coed Jail! v.1.1,’ performing songs from the two recent box set releases, ‘Architecture Of Language 1979-1982’ and ‘Elitism For The People 1975-1978’ !

Watch the new David Thomas video ‘All You Have To Do Is Stand There’ here

Listen to Architecture Of Language sampler below

Tracks from the inaugural ‘Modern Dance,’ through to what was described as “the scariest album ever recorded,” ‘New Picnic Time,’ will be performed in a fast moving set lasting 1½ hours.

Pere Ubu are David Thomas, Steven Mehlman (Drums), Michele Temple (Bass), Robert Wheeler (Synth and Theremin), and they will be joined by Gary Siperko (Rocket From The Tombs, Whiskey Daredevils, Mofos) on lead guitar.

This isn’t a reunion. It isn’t a greatest hits tour.

“We don’t promote chaos, we preserve it,” Thomas explained. “Now more than ever – just like Nixon said – you need the sort of utterly gratuitous mess that only men of conviction can provide.”

Tour Dates

16 Jun: Lee’s Palace, Toronto, Canada
17 Jun: Marble Bar, Detroit, MI
18 Jun: Lincoln Hall, Chicago, IL
19 Jun: Zanzabar, Louisville, KY
20 Jun: Exit/In, Nashville, TN
24 Jun: Rock & Roll Hotel, Washington, DC
25 Jun: Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia, PA
27 Jun: The Sinclair, Cambridge, MA
28 Jun: Fete Lounge, Providence, RI
29 Jun: Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY
01 Jul: Club Café, Pittsburgh, PA
02 Jul: Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland, OH