The Dream Syndicate reveal new single ‘Every Time You Come Around’ from upcoming album ‘Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions’

Out today, The Dream Syndicate release new single ‘Every Time You Come Around’ taken from their album ‘Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions’ set for release on 10th June on Fire Records.

Co-written by Emil Nikolasien, the new track has “a sense of arrogance and fragility in the lyrics which Jason had the good sense to fully obliterate with a tsunami of fuzz guitar” says Steve Wynn.

Throwing out any preconceptions on the cryptically titled album, The Dream Syndicate have moved well past their early Velvet Underground influences and taken on British glam, German prog and more.

‘Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions’ features singer/songwriter/guitarist Steve Wynn, drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton, lead guitarist Jason Victor plus their newest member Chris Cacavas on keyboards (you remember him from the 1980s Los Angeles band Green On Red), plus guest appearances from Stephen McCarthy (of The Long Ryders) and Marcus Tenney‘s expressive sax and trumpet work.

When The Dream Syndicate emerged in the early 80s, frontman Steve Wynn declared that “we’re playing music we want to hear because nobody else is doing it” – he added, “I’ll compromise on what I eat or where I sleep, but I won’t compromise on what music I play.” 

Both were true. The band was, and still remain, uncompromising.

Available in LTD ed. Transparent Violet LP, Black LP & CD. Also available the ‘Dream Syndicate Battle Hymns Bundle’: LTD ed. Violet LP + Enamel Pin + Tote Bag + Baseball Cap + Slipmat.


The Dream Syndicate Artist Page

The Dream Syndicate ‘Ultraviolet Battle Hymns and True Confessions’



A potent psychedelic strain of shoegaze infusing their Paisley Underground motorik


Alchemising rock and non-rock inspirations into a sound that’s fresh but supercharged, vibrating with life

The Wire