Giant Sand Reveal ‘The Sun Set’ Volume 1, 2 & 3 Box Details + ‘The Sun Set’ EU Tour

As a parting farewell gift, Fire Records will release a dreamy three volume box set of vinyl entitled; “The Sun Set”. Limited to 2000 copies of each, once they’re gone, they’re gone!

giant sand rsd image

The complete A-Z of Giant Sand will be released alphabetically rather than chronologically, highlighting the careening career and wandering muse of Howe Gelb and his assembled sun blasted slingers. The final volume will bring all three volumes together and include an album of bonus material and an exclusive book on the band and their history.

The first volume is released 16th April for Record Store Day 2016 on Fire Records.

Volume One:

Ballad of a Thin Line Man (1986)
Blurry Blue Mountain (2010)
Center of the Universe (1992)
Chore of Enchantment (2000) 2LP
Glum (1994) 1LP
Goods and Services (1995) 2LP

The hardboard slipcase box set contains six albums across eight 12” vinyl and features extensive and entertaining liner notes from Howe Gelb himself.

Volume Two:

Is All Over The Map (2004)
Long Stem Rant (1989)
Provisions (2008)
Purge & Slouch (1993)
Ramp (1991)
Storm (1987)

Volume Three:

Black Out (1993)
Swerve (1990)
The Love Songs (1988)
Tucson (2012)
Valley Of Rain (1985)
Includes an album of bonus material and an exclusive book

‘The Sun Set Tour’ 

09 Apr: Botanique, Brussels, Belgium 
10 Apr: Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, Netherlands 
11 Apr: Village Underground, London, UK 
12 Apr: Sage, Gateshead, UK 
13 Apr: Whelans, Dublin, Ireland 
14 Apr: Cyprus Avenue, Cork, Ireland 
15 Apr: Roisin Dubh, Galway, Ireland 
16 Apr: All Tomorrow’s Parties 2.0 Festival, Prestatyn, UK 
17 Apr: All Saints Church, Brighton, UK 
18 Apr: The Lantern, Bristol, UK 
19 Apr: Le Trabendo, Paris, France

Stream ‘The Sun Set Vol.1’ Sampler below