Immaterial Possession announce new album ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’. Watch video for ‘To The Fete’

‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’  is the beautifully accomplished second album from Athens GA’s Immaterial Possession. A theatrical soundscape littered with subconscious flashbacks, retro keyboard flurries, wandering Morricone-esque guitar and dreamy Sumac-like harmonies.

Featuring the ethereal eerie dream pop of former artist commune residents Cooper Holmes and Madeline Polites, with drummer John Spiegel and Elephant 6 descendant Kiran Fernandes (keyboards, clarinets, flutes). Additional contributions come from drummer Jon Vogt who can be heard on ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’  and ‘Birth Of Queen Croaker’.

It’s a haunting and immersive trip into the inner psyche of these nomadic soothsayers; a psychedelic dance party from a half-lit underground world; breathlessly eerie and all consuming; a salubrious sojourn that sounds like nothing else. Filled with a kind of peculiar optimistic uncertainty that any quest to make sense of a drowsy recollection of simpler and far better times would have; ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’  is soft and serene summoning up a fanciful folkloric place where, undoubtedly, the mysterious crane flock prosper.

Immaterial Possession’s ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’  is released on 5th May on Fire Records. Ahead of its release, they’ll be playing some special live dates at this year’s SXSW – more details to be announced soon.

Available on Limited Edition Green Vinyl & CD. Out 5th May.


Immaterial Possession Artist Page

Immaterial Possession ‘Mercy Of The Crane Folk’



In their own eccentric world of the unknown

Everything Is noise